Jump directly to the content

Mortgage stimulus for homeowners in each state explained – can you get up to $80,000?

HOMEOWNERS struggling to pay their mortgage and other bills due to Covid can still get help thanks to federal funds.

The American Rescue Plan Act set aside stimulus money for states to help people at risk of losing their homes.

Struggling homeowners can get up to $80,000 in support from their statesCredit: Alamy

This is known as the Homeowner Assistance Fund (HAF), which provides nearly $10billion for states and other US territories.

All states and eligible territories have applied for the funding, and most of them have now set up their own programs.

The others have so far set up pilot programs, or remain in the process to do so, according to the National Council of State Housing Agencies (NCSHA).

If you get accepted, the funds can be used for mortgage payments, homeowner’s insurance, utility payments, and more.

Read more on mortgages


Can I remove my ex-partner from our mortgage without refinancing?

Who is eligible to get help?

The fund is available for those who've experienced financial hardship after the pandemic initially hit the US.

You may be eligible if you experienced financial difficulties after January 21, 2020, as well as hardship that began before this date but continued after.

To qualify, incomes must be 150% or less of the area median income or 100% of the median income for the US, whichever is bigger.

Most read in Money


Automatic $850 checks to go out to hundreds of thousands in DAYS

Plus, the homeowner’s mortgage balance must be less than $548,250.

How much you can get varies between states, but California is currently offering the highest maximum at $80,000 per household.

In comparison, Arizona is offering up to $25,000, Georgia up to $50,000 and Oklahoma up to $20,000.

HAF programs in each state and territory

HAF program open:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska - Applications closed on April 4.
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Hawaii - Temporarily closed applications on March 4.
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Pilot program running:

  • Colorado
  • District of Columbia
  • Iowa
  • Montana
  • Oregon
  • Washington

Preliminary information available:

  • Delaware
  • North Dakota
  • Utah

To apply, check your state's website and follow the instructions.

If and when your application is approved, the funds are typically sent directly to your mortgage lender and other providers.

We explain how to get mortgage relief through a federally-backed refinance program.

Read More On The Sun


Kourtney Kardashian's husband Travis Barker sparks worry with new injury

Homeowners are missing out on savings worth more than $300 per month by not refinancing their mortgage.

Plus, we reveal how to lower mortgage payments as interest rates rocket.